< 2012 Manchester United Premier Cup Tournament
14.03.2012 20:30 Age: 2 yrs
Category: Front Page, Events, Mens

FFSA Carlsberg Cup Final

Wednesday, March 14


Carlsberg Cup Final

Wednesday March 14


Adelaide Blue Eagles will contest their fifth grand final out of a possible six when they take on Adelaide Comets at Hindmarsh Stadium on Wednesday night in the FFSA Carlsberg Cup Final.

Blue Eagles won the 2010 Federation Cup and were runners up in the Super League Grand Final in the same year while also making both finals in the 2011 campaign meaning the only major final they have missed out on has been the 2011 Carlsberg Cup Final.

ABE coach Vojo Gluscevic admitted he was delighted with his side’s form so far but said it was only pre-season and there’s still a long way to go.

Gluscevic hinted his squad will be more formidable than the 2011 Championship side, after signing UK import, Jack Plummer who was on the books at Portsmouth, and regaining the services of young midfielder Mitch Nicholson who returns from a season-long injury. 

Nicholson will be absent from Wednesday night’s game however due to injury, while ABE will also be without Kym Harris and Evan Kounavelis through suspension and Plummer is still awaiting clearance.

“So far it’s too early to say because it’s only pre-season,” said Gluscevic.

“But the boys have responded well. I actually think this squad is stronger than last year to be honest.”

“But we are missing a couple of key players for tonight with Evan and Kym not playing. Also Mitch Nicholson and our new player Jack who hasn’t played yet.”

Gluscevic acknowledged while he hasn’t checked out Wednesday’s opponents in the pre-season competition, he admitted ABE won’t be underestimating the Devine Super League new boys.

“I haven’t seen Adelaide Comets so far this season,” he said.

“They are the new boys to the Super League so we will show them respect. I have heard they have a good squad and they play well so we won’t take them easy.”

Comets coach Nek Galanopoulos admitted his club is ‘buzzing’ at the moment with a chance to win their first major piece of silverware since joining the Federation in 2006.

In just six seasons, the club has risen from the Devine State League to the Devine Super League.

“It’s a fantastic feeling around the club at the moment, there’s certainly a buzz,” he said.

“There’s a positive feel and it’s breeding confidence, especially amongst the boys who have been with the club a long time.”

Comets have added plenty of experience with Eli Vlassis joining from Adelaide City and Steven Stefanopoulos switching from Western Strikers while US import Mathew Bouraee has been touted to be one of the league’s top strikers.  

“Recruiting was also a key part of the process,” said Galanopoulos.

“We brought in those players because they’re the type to help the youngsters. They’ve come in and gelled well and they’re also excited about the direction the club is going.”

Galanopoulos acknowledged the task at hand in facing ABE, the defending Devine Super League champions, but he said it would be the perfect opportunity to measure where his placed for upcoming campaign

“All the boys are keen to see where they’re at,” he said.

“They all dream about playing against the best and what a better way to do it than in a grand final.”

“We know this is the final of the pre-season competition and there’s still a long way to go. But, what has made me really happy is that all 22 players in the squad have played a part in getting us here.”

Adelaide Blue Eagles v Adelaide Comets
7:30pm – Hindmarsh Stadium, Holden Street, HINDMARSH

Referee: Gary Mooney
Assistants: Daniel Faulkner, Eric Ford
Fourth Official: Kym Massinis

Adelaide Blue Eagles: Gino De Lucia (GK) (C), Christopher Atsikbasis, Stefan Barletta, Chad Bugeja, Damien Crettenden, Jace Cummins, Fortunato Filletti, Johnny Giannitto, Dean Kenrick, Haris Vukic, Hayden Walter, Marco Balsamo, Alex Sortini, Fabio Migliaccio (RGK)

Adelaide Comets:     Rick Borgas(GK), Matthew Bouraee, Elias Demourtzidis, Peter Eleftherakis, George Hatzipanagiotis, David Makridis, Frank Marafioti, Ryan  Moore, Michael Moularas, Keegan Nash, Michael Seacomb, Steven Stefanopoulos, Eli Vlassis,Daniel Voss-Piotto, Stav Warner, Davide Zerillo


Admission Gold Coin donation – Gates open 6:45pm


  FFSA Enews